TWENTY-FOURTH ANNUAL <u>Iowa Association of Track Officials Clinic</u> Saturday, December 7, 2024-Gateway Center-Ames, Iowa

Welcome and Introductions-Mark Tigges, IATO President- 8:45 am

2024 IATO Board Members were introduced at the meeting. Several members will be going off the board as they have served two terms. NW-Jim Nichols, Curt Anderson; SW-Josh Rasmussen, Rollie Wiebers; Central-Randy Baker, Larry Parker; SE-Randy Wilson, Timm Lamb.

Having served one term were: NE-Terry Fischer, John Zietlow; At Large Fran Long, Jeff Cook. They will remain on the Board for the next three years.

2025 IATO Board Members will be: NW-Joel Grabinoski, Dan Kruse, SW-David Huff, Tom Hartigan; Central-Dave Tapps, Randy Thoren, SE-Mike Gruver, Ray Wilden, NE-Terry Fischer, John Zietlow; At Large-Fran Long, Ray Armel(replacement for Jeff Cook.

2024 IATO Officers were introduced-President-Mark Tigges, Vice President-Jim Nichols and Bill Neal-Secretary/Treasurer

Annual Business Meeting

- **Approval of Minutes of November 17, 2024-MM-Jeff Cook, SM-Timm Lamb
- **Treasurer's Report-Bill Neal reported that the IATO has \$15, 423.00 in checking account. Outstanding bills will be about \$3,000 from the 2024 clinic expenses.
- **Membership Update from Bill Neal (Honorary member-1, New members-9, Retiring-2 and the IATO has 23 members who haven't paid their dues) MM-Randy Wilson, SM-Jim Nichols

*Old Business

- **Volunteer Certificates-Mark Tigges has certificates available for members to use in 2025.
- **Hall of Fame-2024-Inductees-Timm Lamb, Richard Leutzinger, Tim Thomas
- **Lowry-Wassink Distinguished Service Award-2024-John Casebolt
- **Track Officials of the Year/Regional Starters-2024

Boys Track Starter of the Year-Tim Bell, Girls Starter of the Year-Mike Gruver Field Event Official of the Year-Al Geiger, Track Official of the Year-Duane Harding, JH Starter of the Year-Kyle Peters

Regional Starters of the Year-NW-Ron Baack, NE-Kevin Long, Central-Mike Bengen, SW-Tom Hartigan, SE-Al Ling

- **Friends of Track-2024- Dick/Sharon Plants
- **IATO Website-www.iowarunjumpthrow.com A new website is being worked on at this time. The IATO uses the IATC website. It should be up soon.

*New Business

- **25/50 Year Official Awards will be recognized on Saturday, May 24, 2024 at the State track and field meet. More details will be sent out in the spring of 2025.
- 25 years-Terry Fischer, Doug Johanson, Gerald Lowry, Ron Maxson and Rollie Wiebers. 50 years-Curt Anderson, Ron Baack, Randy Baker, Howard Johnson, Kent Lyon, Jeff Richards.

**Blank Shells-Bill Neal gave a report on blank shells for 2024 and 2025 The prices will remain the same for the purchase of blank shells at the 2025 IATO clinic. .32 S & W blanks-\$46 per box, .22 CCI blanks-\$18 per box and 9 mm blanks-\$18 per box. Also, Fran Long (Ft. Dodge) will be the new ammo chair starting in 2025. More details later in 2025

.

- **IATO Procedures Manual-The manual has been revised over the 2024 summer. It will be sent out to all current IATO members in January. Since it's been completely revised all members should throw away old copies and print the new manual and place it in a three ring binder. Its completely revised and won't match up with the old manual. Bill Neal and Greg Blank will serve as the Co-Editors of the IATO Procedures Manual. A huge thanks to Greg Blank for offering his computer talents to revise the manual. Take my word he's good!!
- **SQM Track Checklist-Jim Nichols shared with the group that 2025 SQM track sites will be visited by various IATO Board of Directors prior to the SQM meet to go thru a checklist of recommendations with meet management and an IATO Board member. It's the intention of these recommendations to enable each site to run an efficient meet. This idea came out of the track and field advisory committee meeting and is supported by the IHSAA/IGHSAU.
- **Official Webinars-The IHSAA/IGHSAU has produced a series of webinars on the field events for meet management, officials and coaches to view prior to the 2025 outdoor track and field season. This should enable local meets, conference meets and SQM meets to be run properly to ensure that the field events are safe, fair and legal. Webinars will be on the IHSAA/IGHSAU by Feb. 1, 2025. The three field event webinars are each approx. 15 minutes long and can be viewed multiple times. "Know your rules"
- **Bill Neal has resigned as IATO Secretary/Treasurer effective at the end of the 2024 IATO clinic. He has served in this position for the past 9 years in addition to 6 years as an IATO Board member. The Executive committee and Board of Directors accepted his resignation at the November Board of Directors meeting and proposes the filling of that position with IATO President Mark Tigges upon his resignation, the Vice President Jim Nichols will move up to the President's position following the IATO by-laws and that the IATO will conduct a vote for Vice President at this meeting. All of which will be effective at the end of the 2024 clinic.

IATO President Mark Tigges presented his resignation letter to the Executive committee and was appointed the new IATO Sec./Treasurer. Jim Nichols agreed to become the IATO President and nominations for a new Vice President were taken from the floor. Jeff Cook was nominated and voted unanimously as the new Vice President all effective at the end of the 2024 clinic. MM-Charlie Walker SM-John Zietlow

A question and answer and sharing of ideas took place. Followed by adjournment of the business meeting.

**Starters-Do you have buckets/boxes full of brass casings sitting around from blanks that you have shot at meets and don't know what to do with them? Please consider giving them to Mark Tigges. He has found a place around Des Moines that will take the brass casings and pay the IATO based on the weight of the blanks. You'll be able to get the brass casings out of your house and donate the money to the IATO. If you have questions contact Mark Tigges at 515-779-5276.

H.S. Boys & H.S. Girls Track & Field Rules-Overview & State Cross Country Meet Review (Jared Chizek-IHSAA & Madison Melchert- IGHSAU)

Jared presented a handout of the new 2025 track and field rule changes. New rule books will be sent out prior to taking the 2025 rules NFHS rules test. The test will again be taken on line. There should be only a few new rule changes in 2025. In addition, both Jared and Madison talked about the Officials webinar and SQM meet site visits.

State Cross Country had good weather and encountered very few issues. It was a great State Cross Country meet with many new course records produced in various classes.

Three presentations were given by the following individuals. One of the vital roles of the IATO is to help educate its officials on the rules and situations that arise at meets. Thanks to those who took the time to present to our group.

Starters situations-Terry Thompson & Ray Armel High Jump situations-Jay Gruenwald & Mike Gruver Clerking-Randy Wilson & John Wolff

Drake Relay Updates-Doug Johanson gave the group a few updates on the 2025 Drake Relays and the names of some of the college teams committed to the 2025 Relays. High School Boys Referee will be Jim Nichols, High School Girls Referee will be Bill Neal and the 2025 High School Starter will be John Zietlow. Congrats to all officials who work the Drake Relays. More information on the Drake Relays will come from Coordinator of Officials, Jim Walczyk later this spring.

Jim Nichols gave a short update on the IATC Indoor High School Championships to be held in Ames, Iowa this winter.

Adjournment at 11:31 am

MM-David Suntken SM-Ray Armel

Submitted Respectfully, Bill Neal IATO Sec. / Treasurer